Rant: Remakes

Am I the only one who is tired of hearing remake or the word reboot? I have was looking on some of the film pages that I follow on Facebook. 98% of the articles are all about remakes coming up. Now, yes I may be a little biased for loving vintage horror… however, I think it’s starting to get ridiculous how they are basically trying to squeeze every penny out of characters regardless of how stupid the film is. I actually refuse to go to theaters or watch remakes anymore. I want something new. You can’t tell me that there aren’t talented people out there that can write a film. I understand seeing influences of past films within a new film. But to remake the whole thing… come on… how many Texas Chainsaw Massacres do we need? Do we really need to keep rehashing Halloween? Do we need to really reboot Poltergeist? Why is that every remake everyone thinks they can make the film “darker” and “scarier”? When in reality… it’s not impressive at all.

Maybe it’s just me. I don’t know. But, I would like to see something new and exciting! I want to feel awkward after watching something and actually say “What the fuck was that?”

Leave a Reply

