The Conjuring (Review)

Hello my devils and ghouls. 

Practically everyone I know was begging me to watch The Conjuring. Telling me that it’s new and surprising and a new film I’d actually like! And then… after watching it… I had to question how well these people know me. (Kidding, you guys are great)

Storyline: In 1971, Carolyn and Roger Perron move their family into a dilapidated Rhode Island farm house and soon strange things start happening around it with escalating nightmarish terror. In desperation, Carolyn contacts the noted paranormal investigators, Ed and Lorraine Warren, to examine the house. What the Warrens discover is a whole area steeped in a satanic haunting that is now targeting the Perron family wherever they go. To stop this evil, the Warrens will have to call upon all their skills and spiritual strength to defeat this spectral menace at its source that threatens to destroy everyone involved. (IDMB)

 

Okay, so sounds like a pretty decent story. According to some research is claims to be about a true story…. Hmmm… well… 

 

Firstly, I had to watch the film twice in a row because I was torn. Did I hate it? Did I like it? So I’ll list the things I did find to my liking and list the things I disliked. Here we go…

Likes:  

  • Had a pretty decent story line going.
  • Acting of the Warren’s was pretty believable.
  • Old house! (Like it should be)

Dislikes:

  • Jump scares were not scary; music gave it a  way too easily.
  • Felt like they were meshing every paranormal film from the ’70s into one movie.
  • The paranormal activity started off way too soon – to me there should have been a little bit more of findings before a whole bunch of crap went on.
  • I don’t understand why people call this film new and exciting… (see bullet 2)

My main thing is with this film is it has me torn. I didn’t like it but I didn’t hate it. It’s like one of those movies you’d put on when the people you are hanging out with don’t like horror movies. It’s not one I’d buy nor have anything to really say about. I just wish it could have been more…scary. This whole every horror movie at night has this blue tint to it thing is getting old. My house doesn’t turn blue at night. If we take a look back at the old paranormal films hell even Halloween, there houses didn’t turn BLUE! And it was freaky because it was more realistic. 

 

You guys might call me a nit-picker… and maybe sometimes I can be… but hey, we all have our own opinions. I for one think this is a film to put on just for background noise. I wouldn’t want to sit through it again. Goddamn, I need to get better at writing reviews. But I suppose this is what I get for trying to write one at 10:43AM.

 

– Mercy

 

Like me on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/MercyDesdemona

Leave a Reply

