Hello, I’m a person.

Hello Devils and Ghouls.

I’d like to get something off my chest. I’ve grown tired of almost every article I read about a talented person in the media today and have to read “Gay front man/woman of [insert band here] brings out the best in people.” “Gay Athlete wins Gold.” Doesn’t anyone see a problem with this? Now, I’m not against any gay rights. I think people of all orientations should just be treated like a person. I am just sick and tired of having orientations define a person these days. Who cares if the musician or the athlete is Gay or Straight? That shouldn’t be the main focus! It shouldn’t be anyone’s business. I’ve grown tired of this whole thing. I don’t care what orientation you are. There are amazing people and assholes in all forms!  We’re all amazing people in our own way! With our own strengths, weaknesses and accomplishments. I for one don’t think someone’s orientation should out shadow their accomplishments in life. Do we just add the orientation factor in headlines to make it some “juicy tabloid” topic? Attention grabber? I’m not quite sure. But I personally don’t care what you do in your bedroom, who you love, as long as you’re a happy person.

– Mercy Desdemona

Leave a Reply

