Who were they?

Good evening. 

           Lately, I have been in a curious mood and lately something has been pulling me in a strange direction. My mother was adopted when she was a baby back in the late 60s. And due to health concerns, she has been looking for the records but is having trouble because it was a Catholic Agency. The curiosity is there mainly because all she knows of her parents were that they were young and in college for music and arts. Could this be where my love for these things stems? I know where I get it on my father’s side, but not my mom’s side. It’s strange that I’m not the one adopted yet I feel the urgency to find out. Every time I go out in public, I could be seeing one of my relatives. Did they ever make it into the music and art world? What is the other half of my bloodline? I know my fathers has German/Polish/Austrian. Who is the other half of me? 

       Is this normal for me to feel this way? Even though I know my parents? Why am I so curious? Why should I give a damn about this? Could it just be my interest in figuring out mysteries? I don’t know. But one thing is for sure, that I would like to know. Even through all I’ve been through, and even though my parents aren’t together nor do they speak to each other, I would still like to know. It would be nice to know, even if they never want to say hello. 

 

I just need to know where to start looking.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Who were they?

  1. It took me six years to find my husband’s family but I did it. Most of the information I was given was wrong. All I knew was his name, a possible birthday and that he had two sisters who were nuns. The rest was bogus. But I found them and an older sister he never knew about. I took a lot of long shots, wrote a lot of letters, made a lot of calls, spent hours on message boards and web sites, and finally it paid off when I wrote letters to every single Catholic church in the area I believed the dad had grown up in. About three months later a priest sent me a letter and a phone number. It was crazy but worth it!

Leave a Reply

