Artemia – Episode 1 – Late Posting!

Attention Devils and Ghouls,

I apologize for posting this late. My weekend was full of events I was unaware of and I do hope you forgive me and enjoy the passage below.

– Mercy Desdemona

 

 

Artemia: Ep.1

         I am an old soul trapped within a young body. I remember every detail, scent, name, etc. All of my lives. From beginning to end. I sit here smoking a cigarette, watching the smoke curl. A century ago, I was Bernadatte. A wealthy woman with a lot of political influence. My soul was born in 5 A.D. No I am not a vampire or a creature of the night. I am just a mere soul that refuses to rest in peace. No matter how hard I try. So here we are in 2013. I’m a young woman of twenty-three and I work as a receptionist at a tattoo parlor. I have to say, I have been lucky with my soul finding attractive people to call home. In the 1920s, I was Annabel Lee the Flapper. In the 1950s, I was a pin-up working a long side Betty Page. And in 2013, I’m a lovely and eccentric young woman.

        My name is Artemia. As I’ve stated before. I’m twenty-three. I live in a cabin near Dark Pond. Secluded by trees and away from town. Just how I like it. I hate when people say they wish they could live forever. You don’t realize how stressful it is. I know you hear this tons of times from vampire tales and all that jazz, but it really is a painful journey. No amount of anger management courses can help me with this pure anger and stress I feel at times. So I deal with it in my own manner. I’m working tonight, the late shift. Avery’s Tattoo parlor is in between two bars and is right in the down town area near the pizza shop. So tonight will be nothing more than a drunk tattoo spree. I couldn’t tell you how many people coming in here claiming to be oh so in love and get names tattooed on them…but it turns out to be either spelled wrong or the wrong woman/man’s name. Don’t get names tattooed Ladies and Gents. Because I guarantee within the next three weeks, you’ll be back in the tattoo chair getting a cover up.

         I’m sitting here watching the news. When will people learn the world is not just black and white. The human brain cannot comprehend what is all out there. We aren’t meant to know everything. Stop bitching about religion and politics and smell the flowers asshole. It’s times like this where I remember Morty. Morty Ives, my lover in 1925. Asshole made me swim with the fishes after our child was born. All because it wasn’t a son. It was a calm night in 1925. I was coming home with Betsy Murr from the new picture. Morty was waiting for me at the usual corner. He didn’t like to show his face. Pigs would be all over him. Our daughter, Linda Mae, was in his arms. She looked like she was sleeping. AS if she was just rocked into a slumber. Morty smiled at me and took me out to Denver’s Pond just a little bit out of town. At first, I objected. The cool night air could be too cold for Linda Mae. Morty insisted. When we arrived, his smile faded. An evil came over his straight face. Two male figures approached us out of the dark. Morty looked at me. “Annabel Lee… I believe you promised me a son as our first born. And since you’ve broken a promise…” He dropped Linda Mae on the ground. She was stone cold dead. I let out a cry and then a scream. “Morty! How could you do this?! To our child!” He smacked me across the face and snickered. “Devil Woman!” He proclaimed before having his two goons tie me up and gag me. “Devil woman! Gave me a devil child!” He sent me to drown… my demise… all the while screaming that I was a devil woman with a devil child. His chant were the final words I heard.

      Once Annabel died, my soul found a new host. A woman who found Annabel’s body. Yep. I found my own dead corpse. And I was allowed to do my duty as a responsible citizen to get Morty Ives and the Goons locked up until their dying day. Mother flippin’ Justice! How about them apples? Morty, I hope you never rest in peace. More like resting in pieces.

                    I made it to Avery’s Tattoo Parlor on time. Some rather large woman was pulling down her pants to get a tramp stamp of a butterfly. Poor Avery. I sat down at the front desk to help some customers. Tonight shall be interesting.

– End Part One-

© Mercy Desdemona 2013

“Tune In” next Friday at 11:00PM for the Next “Episode”.

Comment below with your feedback and get a chance to have your blog mentioned at the end of one of our videos!

= Mercy Desdemona =

Leave a Reply

