Break out the Victrola!

AtHello Creeps!

Today I’d like to share a favorite past time of mine. I adore anything historical or vintage! I have to say I inherited that from my dad. I remember being around 9 or 10, and our area had a power outage either do to a winter storm or a fallen line. Naturally, we started up our kerosine lamps and nibbled on cookies around. My younger brother and I would always try to read or write and contemplate what it would be like to be living in the era when electricity was first put into houses! Could you imagine?

My dad came into the room and it was the first time I laid my eyes on a Victrola.

 

Image found on Google Images.

 

At first, I didn’t know what it was and my dad explained to me that we were going to be listening to some classic records. When I say classic, I mean way back near the early 1900s. We have a copy of Cal Stewart’s comedy recordings from 1901! I have to say I don’t remember if I laughed as hard as I did that night ever again.

From Google Images.

 

It had to be the most interesting thing to me! I don’t know why! I just loved the sound quality and the corny jokes. The way you heard the fuzz on the recording. It sounded so genuine to me. This is what brought my love and obsession for records! That day the power went out!

Cal Stewart was born in 1859 and died in 1919. He was a pioneer in vaudeville and early recording works.

Here’s one of the sides of the record to share with you creeps. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

 

 

Leave a Reply

