Why I left religion

You were such a good little girl when you were younger! What happened to you?!

– A question I get asked by the religious side of my family every day because I left the religion.

When I was a young girl, I did what I was told. Attended church school, sang in the church choir, acted within the pageants and went to confession. I didn’t feel comfortable with any of it. At a young age, I saw that I didn’t agree with it. For some reason, I saw how people acted. Being the quiet person I am, I’m observant of the people around me. Their behavior and how they treat each other. The same teachers at church school were gossiping and bullying people they called “friends”. They believed they were perfect in the realm of their God.

When I was about 13 or 14, I started questioning their ways. Why are these people treating each other so horrible? Why are they judging people and pushing the bible on people? Wasn’t faith something that people are supposed to find on their own? Why are these people not being accountable for their wrong doing? Why is Satan bad when he’s the angel of individualism?

In high school, I started researching the history of the oh so lovely religion that was being pushed upon me. Paganism was the forefather. And this religion stole from them. Making the pagans seem like horrible people on the planet. I just didn’t understand the hatred coming from this religion.

I’m currently in my early twenties. I don’t know what to call myself when it comes to a religious point. I believe more in nature and pagan mythologies than the bible. I believe in treating others how you want to be treated within this world. I believe in helping others instead of spreading hatred. I may not agree with every view or lifestyle of everyone I meet on the planet, but that’s not a reason to hate someone. It’s lovely to see people stand with their views and lifestyle instead of conforming because of the bible pushers and peers.

As I’ve stated in a previous blog entry, I’m pro-choice to life. Each individual on this planet has a right to feel comfortable with who they are. Those that spread hate and try to be perfect for a dictator in the sky – Are bullies. To quote my recent Facebook status:

The religious people in my family have guts. They claim they’ll help someone because they are a human being, but won’t if the person turns out to be gay. I have friends that are gay or bi, and I hate the disrespect they receive. Since when is who a person loves the decision of the world? How would we like it if we had gays attack us for being straight and calling it wrong or appalling? How would you like to be treated that way? I know I wouldn’t. So why should I treat a fellow human being like an alien because they decide to love the same gender? Logic? I think not. And my religious side of my family still doesn’t see why I won’t join their band wagon. -_- Ha! I’m more generous and kind to others without following “God” than you are following the bible!

I left religion because I saw the hate it brought upon the world. How they want everyone to be the same. I’m a spiritual person. No ones spirit should be bullied in any form by anyone on this planet. People aren’t perfect. We do make mistakes and we can choose to learn from them and become a better human being, or ignore them and fall on our faces. Satan didn’t make us do it. God isn’t punishing us. We as individuals have free will. We made decisions. Some good, some poor. But in the end, it’s what we take from it and what we do with the gained knowledge that shapes us as a human.

I keep getting told because I don’t follow the bible I won’t go to heaven. If heaven is where these group of religious extremists are – I don’t want to be there anyway.

I have friends, customers to the shop, youtube viewers/commenters, of many different religions and views. We can talk like adults and respect each others worlds. We are all human with marvelous brains that get suppressed by extremism. My previous blog discusses how I’m against extremism. I guess, the extremism I was seeing within the religion pushed me away. I didn’t feel at home with following God. I’m not saying all Catholics, Christians etc. are bad. Or whatever religion you are. I left because I can’t stand the hate, the greed, the manipulation.

To hate someone is to negatively care about them. And, I don’t care. Not in a bad way mind you. But, in a manner of — I don’t care if a person is a different color, religious preference, political standing, gay/straight/bi, etc. It’s the person’s CHARACTER that matter.

I left religion because I felt like an outsider that didn’t belong. It didn’t warm my heart nor shape me in anyway. I am now a young woman in my early twenties with a kind heart and generous nature to those in need. When you have nothing as well as others on this planet in the same struggle as you – why would you leave them behind because your “bible” says it’s wrong? I saw many contradictions in that book when I attempted to read it, compared to a book full of pagan views and/or rules (which ever you wish to call them) are more straight forward and to the point. Take account for your wrongdoing. Make things right. etc.

Religious people always tell me to treat others how I want to be treated – yet they spread hate and agony to those that are different from them. I treat them with respect – but get bullied in return. They wonder why I will never pray nor talk religion with them. Why? To get bullied and feel so small in the world? I have learned to choose my battles. You can’t get in through a thick-headed extremist that life is about living as a whole with the world rather than separate, miserable, and manipulated.

– Mercy Desdemona

2 thoughts on “Why I left religion

  1. I used to struggle with religion. I learned what I could about it. My conclusion? Religion is made by human beings trying to control other human beings. Is there a God? I see no other explanation for the Universe. But I am of the same mind as you. The best thing we can do is love one another. That’s it. That’s everything.

Leave a Reply

