Don’t Lose Yourself

I’ve grown tired of my lack of ambition. I graduated high school in 2009. I was a strong-willed; ambitious young woman that was a successful bass player and vocalist. I had the guts it took to be who I wanted to be. No one could discourage me or tell me any different than what I wanted to do. I had a dream and was willing to obtain it. Through hard work and learning.

2010, I joined University online. The ambition, the strong-will, and my might started to diminish the more I was in school. I started to settle for what life was. My dreams were slowly being squashed and I thought, hey I’ll just settle for something near my dream instead of obtaining it.

2013, I’m done having my life sucked out by anyone. I have the drive, the ambition, the work ethic and not to mention, I’ve got what it takes to make a success out of myself. I filled out a leave of absence form for school. This is when I lost friends because it’s not what they approved of or because I was changing. I started to get bullied. For doing absolutely nothing but finding myself. I’m tired of settling for what life is. I’m going to pursue the family shop, I”m going to pursue my music and use my talents. I have a lot to offer to a community. I’m tired of seeing female vocalists shy away because they don’t feel beautiful enough and then go forth to “slut up” and waste their talents.

No. I’m not someone that would be put in playboy magazine or go on to win Sexiest Metal Queen. I’m an average woman. But I’ve got drive, a fire of life in my soul, and talent to take me to where I want to go.

I’m tired of being silent because “friends” tell me I’m going down a wrong path because it’s not what they would do. Screw people. My life isn’t about them or settling for nothing.

Don’t ever give up yourself. If you feel yourself is slipping away, something is wrong.

Leave a Reply

