Slow, Deep, and Hard – Type O Negative (Recommend)

2:00AM – Can’t sleep worth shit. So why not recommend a favorite album? I can’t guarantee it will be a good one – but give this tired brain a try. I don’t apologize for it sucking. As I’ve warned you BEFOREHAND. You’re the one that kept reading.

Slow, Deep, and Hard was Type O Negative’s first album. The first album of which my tiny child ears fell upon (besides Bloody Kisses) when I was just a small girl. Although this album came out when I was exiting my mother’s birth canal (’91), I can remember being attracted to the sound of the bass and the vocals while I would take my tiny naps. Needless to say my parents had the best nap time music for a child.

I enjoy the dark and dreary album because it talks about real life situations and pain. Something of which is missing in today’s lyrical content. The lyrics reach you at an emotional level causing the brain to function in mysterious ways. Triggering you to think as the music sinks beneath the skin. My favorite song on the album is Der Untermensch due to the fact it talks about all the parasites to society. With the lyrical content full of truth how could you go wrong? The heart wrenching pain of wanting to murder a cheating lover – felt deep to the bone. Relatable on all aspects. Although some people recommend Bloody Kisses or October Rust (I adore all the albums by this band), I would start off with this one. Only because it’s stuck in my head right now.

Take a listen:

Fuck this writing shit.

– Mercy

Leave a Reply

